HSCC Finals at Silverstone this Weekend

With 21 races over two days, over 270 entries and at least eight titles to be decided, the Historic Sports Car Club’s 2019 championship season will conclude in fine style at the Silverstone Finals Meeting on 19th/20th October.

Among the key championships to be resolved is the Historic Formula Ford 2000 Championship, which has drawn another fine entry to cap an excellent season. Cumbrian racer Andrew Park is in pole position to claim a record fourth straight title, though he is far from safe as Jason Redding and Ian Pearson, separated by a single point, are still in reach if Park falters. However, if Park can win the first race on Saturday he is assured the crown.

In the Historic Touring Car Championship, Bob Bullen is vying to become the first Ford Anglia-mounted champion for 15 years and arrives at Silverstone with a six-point lead over Roger Stanford (Lotus Cortina). With 18 points up for grabs across two races and no points to drop, it is all to play for between these two hard-charging competitors.

Another fine grid of cars will contest the sixth and final round of the Guards Trophy, which runs to its customary 40-minute, pit-stop duration on Sunday. Ross Hyett (Lotus Elan), Mike Gardiner (TVR Griffith) and Benn Tilley (Lotus 23B) are the key contenders and both Hyett and Tilley will race solo while Gardiner will again share the TVR with BTCC racer Josh Cook. Each contender comes from a different class and so it remains wide open heading to Silverstone.

One of the closest finishes will come in the Historic Formula 3 Championship as 2016 champion Simon Armer (March 703) has just a three-point lead over 2015 champion Leif Bosson (Brabham BT28) and with 90 points available it is all about who finishes ahead in Sunday’s pair of races. Andrew Hibberd (Brabham BT18) could be the pacesetter but many eyes will be on Armer and Bosson.

A fine entry will contest the concluding two races in the XL Aurora Trophy, which is a series of races rather than a championship. Cars from Formula 1, Formula 5000 and Formula 2 will be joined by a strong contingent of Formula Atlantic cars including the ex-Jim Crawford Chevron B45 of Steve Worrad. In what promise to be two fascinating races, a raft of quick car/driver combinations includes Matt Wrigley (March 782), Michael Lyons (Lola T300) and Tim da Silva (Chevron B35).

Around 40 Formula Juniors will make a fine spectacle across four races as double-headers for the front and rear-engined cars wrap up the FJHRA/HSCC Silverline Formula Junior Championship. Andrew Taylor (Cooper T56) has a useful overall points’ lead and is now favourite to scoop his first title, as Chris Drake (Terrier Mk4) and Alex Morton (Condor SII) head the chase in their front-engined cars.

The final two races for the Classic Clubmans Championship will run on Sunday with both classes yet to be decided. Among the very rapid Class A cars, Mark Charteris (Mallock Mk20/21) is almost secure from the challenge of Alan Cook (Mallock Mk20) while the B Class for the Formula Ford engined cars is headed by Barry Webb (Mallock Mk16BW) and Stephen Littler (Mallock Mk18B).

The Classic Formula 3 Championship is already secure in the hands of Adrian Langridge (March 803) but Steve Maxted and David Thorburn will contest the runner-up slot in their Ralt RT3s. In the concurrent Classic Formula Ford 2000 Series, Ben Stiles will aim to wrap up the season with the main award over Steve Collier in a similar Van Diemen RF82.

The Historic Road Sports Championship has been won by Kevin Kivlochan (AC Cobra) but another tremendous grid will contest the final race as Kivlochan looks to add to his impressive tally of race wins. Notable rivals include 2018 champion John Davison, who will make a welcome return to racing in his Lotus Elan, and Richard Plant (Morgan Plus 8).

More than 30 cars will form a great spectacle in the final race of the season for the 70s Road Sports Championship, which was recently won by Jeremy Clark (Lotus Elan). Contenders for victory in what promised to be a cracking race on Saturday include Mark Leverett (Lotus Elan), John Williams (Porsche 911SC), Dave Karaskas (TVR 3000M), Julian Barter (Lotus Elan), Kevin Kivlochan (Morgan Plus 8) and James Dean (Lotus Europa).

The Historic Formula Ford 1600 Championship has been settled in favour of Cameron Jackson after a stunning season in his Winkelmann with 10 wins and three seconds to date from 13 starts. Opponents to Jackson at Silverstone include Speedsport Racing’s trio of Pierre Livingston, Ben Tusting and Ed Thurston as well as Linton Stutley (Royale RP3). In the Over 50s contest, Rob Smith and Ted Pearson will settle their season-long contest.

On Saturday, qualifying starts at 9am, followed by the first of 8 races at 12.25pm. 
On Sunday, qualifying starts at 9am, followed by the first of 13 races at 10.30am. 

Popular Articles