'Lucky' Win on Rally Alpi Orientali Historic

The competitors taking part in the Rally Alpi Orientali Historic faced six special stages on day two. At the end of the tenth and final stage the Porsche 911 SC local drivers Lucio Da Zanche and Daniele De Luis was the overall winner, finishing 15 seconds ahead of the Lancia Delta Integrale of ‘Lucky’ and Fabrizia Pons, the EHSRC entered car taking maximum Category 4 points in Italy.

The Lancia finished over four minutes ahead of the second placed Cat 4 car, the Porsche 911 SC of Mats Myrsell and Esko Juntilla, with Round 6 winners Will Graham and Michael Johnston finishing third in the category in their BMW M3.

The Category 3 win went to the Porsche 911 of Karl Wagner and Gerda Zauner after the leading Audi Quattro of ‘Zippo’ and Denis Piceno retired on the tenth and final stage of the rally with the front left wheel damaged. The Porsche 911 SC of Pentti Veikkanen and Timo Jaakkola was the second category 2 EHSRC car home, with round 6 overall winners Esa Peltonen and Jyrki Saarto in their Toyota Starlet in third.

The Category 2 Championship points went to the Porsche 911 RS of Maurizio Pagella and Roberto Brea, with the Alfa Romeo GTam of Laszlo Mekler and Edit Mekler-Miko finishing just over a minute behind the Italian crew. After failing to finish in the last two rallies, Anders and Ingrid Johnsen claimed 16 valuable championship points for third place in the Porsche 911 RSR.

Antonio Parisi and Giuseppe D’Angelo took their third Category 1 win of the year in the Porsche 911S, finishing six and a half minutes ahead of the BMW 2002 Ti of Carlo Fiorito and Marina Bertonasco. Ernie and Karen Graham ended the rally third in class in the Ford Escort Twin Cam 8m27.8 behind Parisi’s Porsche.

The next round of the 2019 FIA European Historic Sporting Rally Championship is the Rally Elba Storico, on the 19th-21st September in Italy.

Popular Articles